10 SDPC students selected for Young Writers’ Conference

COUNTY — Ten SDPC students will be among a select group of South Carolina’s finest young authors at the 2011 Young Writers’ Conference.

The conference will be held on March 19 at Ballentine Elementary School, located outside of Columbia.

After reading stories submitted for the competition, a committee selected the following students to represent SDPC at the conference: Dante Teets from Central Elementary, Matthew Kyle from Crosswell Elementary, Thomas McCoy from Dacusville Elementary, Hannah Willis from Forest Acres Elementary, Gwyneth Waddington from West End Elementary, Jaymee Morgan from Pickens Elementary, Rosa Kome from Edwards Middle, Paul Greenstein from Edwards Middle, Edric Griffin from Edwards Middle and Brye Moss from Pickens Middle.

In addition to participating in small group sessions of sharing and learning with other young writers, attendees also can attend large group sessions featuring nationally recognized authors and/or illustrators.

Scheduled to appear are James Ransome, Lisa Ransome, Steven Swinburne, Anthony Fredericks and Sneed B. Collard, III.

The Young Writers’ Conference is sponsored by the SC Council of the International Reading Association, the SC Association of School Librarians, the SC Council of Teachers of English, the SC Middle School Association, the SC State Department of Education, the SC Writing Project, and the SC Arts Commission.