Ballots set for election

COUNTY — Candidate filing has officially closed for this year’s election.
The Pickens County Republican primary is set for June 14, while the general election is set for Nov. 8.
Pickens County voters will be casting their ballots in many contested races at the local level this year, with most seats to be decided during the primary.
Pickens County sheriff Rick Clark has filed for re-election. He’ll face former assistant sheriff Tim Morgan, who he defeated in 2012 to replace longtime sheriff David Stone.
Several county council districts are up for election this year. Incumbent Councilman Randy Crenshaw is seeking another term representing District 3. He faces Jimmy Davis, Alex Saitta and Wes Hendricks.
In county council District 4, incumbent G. Neil Smith is seeking re-election. He faces a challenge from Roy Costner and Keith Culbreath.
County councilwoman Jennifer Willis is not seeking re-election for her District 5 seat. Mitch Bagwell, Chris Bowers, Robert Sams, Harley Staton and Jeff Willis will contend for that seat.
County council District 6 will also have a new representative, as incumbent councilman Tom Ponder is not seeking re-election. Carl Hudson is running unopposed. Daniel Lee had filed to run but has withdrawn.
The district 1 and 2 seats are not up for election this cycle.
Four people have filed for the State Senate District 2 seat. Don Joslyn, Allen Quinn and Rex Rice will battle to unseat incumbent Larry Martin.
Although State House of Representatives District 3 incumbent Gary Clary faces no opposition in the Republican primary, he will face Libertarian Travis McCurry in November.
Seeking re-election to his State House of Representatives District 4 seat, Rep. Davey Hiott will also have to wait until November for a challenge, as he’ll face Libertarian Joey Lum.
Rick Tate seeks to unseat incumbent Rep. Neal Collins for the State House of Representatives District 5 seat. Collins has filed for re-election.
Both U.S. Representative Jeff Duncan and U.S. Senator Tim Scott face opposition in this year’s race as well.
Democrat Hosea Cleveland of Seneca will run against Duncan for the District 3 seat in November.
Bill Bledsoe of Spartanburg, Thomas Dixon of North Charleston, Jim Hinkle of Bluffton and Rebel Michael Scarborough of Columbia have all filed to run against Scott, who is seeking re-election.
Senator Thomas Alexander is running unopposed. Rep. Joshua Putnam faces no opposition for his District 10.
County auditor Brent Suddeth, coroner Kandy Kelley, clerk of court Pat Welborn and treasurer Dale Looper are all running unopposed.