Candidates’ primary eligibility undecided

COLUMBIA — It is still unclear if nearly 200 candidates across the state will see their names on primary election ballots after the South Carolina Supreme Court ruled last week that candidates should have filed financial paperwork when they filed to run for office no later than March 30.
In 2010, South Carolina started a new system of filing in which all candidates were to file economic interest documents online with the state ethics commission the day that they filed for office.
The ruling has left primary elections up the in air all over the state, with some seats now having no candidates at all eligible.
On Tuesday, the Senate Judiciary Committee met to try to rectify the apparent miscommunication from officials to candidates. During the meeting the committee moved forward with a plan to re-certify candidates that filed their economic interest documents before April 20.
The Senate will push on Wednesday to add the bill to re-certify onto an already-passed House election bill. The measure may move forward with the established June 12 primaries, but primaries may be delayed until as late as August unless a federal lawsuit is joined.
The Pickens County Registration and Elections commission sent out a list on Friday of the current candidates still eligible for local elections. All incumbents are eligible since their economic interest documents were filed during prior campaigns.
In Pickens County, those still on the ballot in either the Democratic or Republican primaries are as follows: U.S. House of Representatives District 3 — Brian Ryan B. Doyle (D), Cason Gaither (D) and Jeff Duncan (R); State Senate District 1 — Thomas C Alexander (R); State Senate District 2 — Larry A Martin (R); State House District 2 — Ed Rumsey (R) and Bill Sandifer (R); State House District 3 — Ed J. Harris (R) and B.R. Skelton (R); State House District 4 — David “Davey” Hiott (R) and Vicky Wynn (R); State House District 5 — Phil Owens (R); State House District 10 — Hamp Johnston (R) and Joshua Putnum (R); Auditor — Brent Suddeth (R); Clerk of Court — Pat Welborn (R); Coroner — Kandy Kelley (R); County Council District 3 — Randy Crenshaw (R); County Council District 4 — G. Neil Smith (R); County Council District 5 — Jennifer H. Willis (R); County Council District 6 — Tom Ponder (R); Sheriff — Keith S Culbreath (I), Rick Clark (R), Billy Looper (R) and C. David Stone (R); Treasurer — Dale M. Looper (R).