Dacusville names 2014 citizen, business of the year

The Clock of Dacusville owners Steve and Faye Paraskevas accept the 2014 Dacusville Business of the Year award.

DACUSVILLE — The Dacusville Community Club celebrated the Christmas season and the approaching new year with an awards ceremony, music and tree lighting last month.

Tom Turner was recently named the 2014 Dacusville Citizen of the Year.

Tom Turner was recently named the 2014 Dacusville Citizen of the Year.

Awards were presented for 2014 Citizen of the Year, 2014 Business of the Year and Honorary Mayor for 2015.

Tom Turner of Dacusville was named Citizen of the Year. He served the Dacusville Fire Department as a volunteer fireman and was recently elected chairman of the board for the Dacusville Fire Department.

Turner often quietly goes behind the scenes to help friends and neighbors in need. He has opened his farm to the Dacusville Heritage Association for the highly successful Farm Days celebration, held each Labor Day in Dacusville, and serves as an active member of the Dacusville Community Club.

“He has worked tirelessly and generously to promote, evaluate and improve the life of the residents of Dacusville — always helping, always giving,” club president Randy Williams said in presenting the award to Turner.

The Clock Restaurant of Dacusville was named Business of the Year.

Williams praised The Clock’s owners and staff for their community spirit, for assisting with impromptu needs for food and for willingness to help promote the community club’s activities throughout the year by posting flyers or notices on their board.

Owners Steve and Faye Paraskevas accepted the award and thanked the Dacusville Community Club and Dacusville residents for their patronage.

Dacusville Community Club sponsors an Honorary Mayor race annually, with the title given to the person who raises the most money to benefit the Dacusville Community Club’s needs. The Honorary Mayor for 2015 was Mike Sims, a Realtor with Norton Real Estate in Dacusville. Williams thanked Sims for his participation.