SDPC names finalists for teacher and support employee of the year award

COUNTY — The finalists for the School District of Pickens County’s teacher and support employee of the year awards have been chosen.

The winner of each award will be announced at the district’s back-to-school celebration at Pickens High School at 8:30 a.m. on Aug. 15. In addition to their awards, the winners and finalists will receive cash prizes sponsored by Southern Wesleyan University.

The finalists for teacher of the year are: Susan Orr – Six Mile Elementary School, Jared Roper – McKissick Elementary School, Nikki Miller – Pickens Elementary School and Toni Johnson – Dacusville Middle School.

The finalists for support employee of the year are: Kim Hager – Dacusville Elemenetary School, Jennifer Ohlrogge – Gettys Middle School, Connie Upchurch – Clemson Elementary School and Diann Reece – A.R. Lewis Elementary School.

The finalists were selected first by a screening committee before going before an interview committee which will determine the winners. The committees were composed of parents, administrators, and former teachers and support employees of the year.