County council honors former Dacusville Fire Board members

Pickens County councilman Tom Ponder, who represents the Dacusville Fire District, recently presented awards to Dennis Bauknight and Sid Miller and for their leadership on the Dacusville Fire Department Board of Directors.

DACUSVILLE — The Dacusville Rural Fire Department has grown from a quonset hut at the edge of a parking lot to its present day, state-of-the-art facility.

Dennis Bauknight and Sid Miller both served on the fire department’s board of directors for more than 20 years each, giving selflessly of their time and knowledge to help ensure the department, the chief and the firefighters have the best equipment, protection and training.

They both retired from the Dacusville Fire Department Board at the end of 2014.

Pickens County Council recently recognized the two and presented them with plaques commemorating their service.

Tom Ponder, the councilman representing the Dacusville Fire District, presented the awards and thanked Bauknight and Miller for their leadership as chairman and secretary, for the time and energy spent on behalf of the residents and for bringing the fire department from meager beginnings to being “one of the best.”

“They both worked to keep costs down without sacrificing safety, comfort or training requirements for the firefighters,” Ponder said. “In addition, nearly $500,000 in grant money was received through the efforts of Sid Miller over the past years.”

The two will now serve, along with Peggy James, who retired in 2013, as emeritus board members.