Primary elections approach

By Ben Robinson, Courier Staff

COUNTY — Three local seats in the State House will be up for grabs in the June 10 primary election.

The only local seats on the ballot will be in the Republican primary.

Incumbent Davey Hiott will face opposition from challenger Michelle Wiles in the State House District 4 race, while the other two seats will feature new representatives.

 In the District 3 race for the seat currently held by B.R. Skelton, who has decided not to seek re-election, Ed Harris will battle Gary E. Clary. The winner of the primary race will face opposition in the November general election from Travis McCurry, who has filed as a Libertarian.

Three men will compete for the District 5 seat currently held by Phil Owens, who will not run again. Neal Collins, Harley Staton and Rick Tate will be on the ballot in the primary.

The only other local seat up for grabs in the primary will be probate judge, which will be a battle between incumbent Kathy Patterson Zorn and challenger H. Mark Durham.

All other races on the Republican ballot are for statewide offices.

Mike Campbell, Pat McKinney, Henry McMaster and Ray Moore will compete for the Republican nomination for lieutenant governor. For state treasurer, incumbent Curtis Loftis is being challenged by Brian Adams.

Eight candidates will compete for the Republican nomination for state superintendent of education. Sandy Atwater, Gary Burgess, Meka Bosket Childs, Amy Cofield, Sheri Few, Don Jordan, Elizabeth Moffly and Molly Mitchell Spearman will compete for the nomination.

James Breazeale and Bob Livingston are running for adjutant general, while Hugh E. Weathers and Joe Farmer are competing for the commissioner of agriculture position.

Both South Carolina seats in the U.S. Senate are up for election.

In the seat formerly held by Jim DeMint, incumbent Tim Scott faces a challenge from Randall Young in the Republican primary.

Sen Lindsey Graham seems to have attracted the most opponent’s in this year’s election and will have to ward off Det Bowers, Lee Bright, Richard Cash, Bill O’Connor and Nancy Mace in the primary for a shot at the Democratic primary winner in November.

The Democratic primary, also set for June 10, has no local offices, although there will be options for state positions.

For state superintendent of education, Montrio M. Belton Sr.., Shiela C. Gallagher, Jerry Govan and Tom Thompson will be competing for the Democrats’ nomination.

Brad Hutto and Jay Stamper will compete for the right to challenge the Republican winner for Graham’s Senate seat in November. Joyce Dickerson, Sidney Moore and Harry Pavilack will compete for the Democrats’ nomination for the other Senate seat.